Easy, No-show Cuffs

In preppy Connecticut, where I live, “cuffs or no cuffs” is a major decision for any up-and-coming banker, insurance actuary or other drone in the state affectionately known as “America’s Filing Cabinet.”

In the Japanese Hippie Doomsday Cult, some may view cuffs as a frippery, a needless detail when there are more important missions to accomplish, what with the end of the world coming and all.

Nonsense, I say! If I am sewing Double-cuff Bermuda Shorts from Happy Homemade Sew Chic, I am going to do it right. That means, yet again, not following the directions in the book and instead relying on common sense. Here’s my three-step no-show cuffing method for a 1.5-inch (4 cm) cuff. I like a slightly larger cuff than the standard 1.25-inch (3 cm) menswear look.

(Please ignore my C-in Home Ec jagged cut line. I was working with a remnant. I measured the inseam to start the pressing line.)

Step one: From the right side, press the hem up an inch (to mark a place for later) and then press the whole hem up an additional 2 inches (5 cm), or 3 inches (7.5 cm) overall.

cuff1Step two, fold the cuff back 1.5 inches (4 cm).

cuff2
Step three, fold that pressed-in 1-inch cuff to the inside. Tuck the raw edges between the remainder of the folded-up cuff and the pant leg. You will have a nice finished inside and a 1.5 inch cuff on the outside.
cuff4

I like to press and pin then try on the pants for fit before I sew the cuffs down. I will sew this by hand so no stitching shows on the right side. Then I’ll tack the cuffs at each side seam so they stay put.

Leave a Reply

