Cross-over Tunic – Busted!

So the Cross-over Tunic sewing project from Happy Homemade Sew Chic is a bust. Literally. The bust does not fit at all and no matter what I try, I can’t make it right. tunicfailThis is my last fitting attempt. The others were much uglier.

The problem is that there’s not enough real estate in the bodice. The seam between the bodice and the skirt hits way too high – just a little south of the midpoint of my bust. It’s supposed to hit under the bust, as an Empire waist type of fit. I am a B, so hardly well-endowed, but I think this pattern was made for an A.

When I put this on, the tunic juts out from my chest like a tent. I tried letting out the seam allowance as much as I could and crossing the bodice pieces at different places to give some more room. Nothing works.

I made a muslin of this tunic and it came out fine. So what happened, when I used my treasured ginkgo fabric from my stash?

I retraced my steps and realized I made a cutting error. For the muslin I added an inch to the length of the bodice, since these patterns are made for a more petite frame, plus a 5/8-inch (2 cm) seam allowance instead of the usual 3/8 inch (1 cm), on both seams where the bodice meets the skirt, to accommodate the tucks. But I forgot to make those changes on the tracing paper pattern! I cut the pattern as written instead.

I don’t think I can fix this. I don’t have enough fabric to cut a new bodice and any decorative strip of contrasting fabric in the trouble spot will accentuate the problem.

So disappointed! Boo! I am going to see if I can salvage the skirt into something.

2 thoughts on “Cross-over Tunic – Busted!

  1. Oh no! This is such a shame, your fabric is lovely. Have you tried wearing a belt around it? That always hides a multitude of sins. Hope you get something salvageable out of the fabric 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

