Pants Fail

Damn you, Straight-cut Sarouel Pants! Damn you!

The hemp pants are unwearable. Check it out. I have to laugh, otherwise I’d cry:pantsfailThe waist is so enormous that there is no way to gather that much material into any kind of waistline. Maybe if I were pregnant or had a very pronounced “apple” shape, this would be OK. But sheesh. I mean, I am in the Japanese Hippie Doomsday Cult all the way, but this is asking too much. I added some darts, I trimmed the sides down, all to no avail.

I’m particularly galled because the hemp for this project was expensive and was tough to sew. I needed four upholstery-sized needles to construct these pants – and I hadn’t even finished the seams yet.

Well, at least I learned a few things:

  • Hemp sucks
  • Sarouel pants suck
  • Hemp + sarouel pants suck the big one.

 

6 thoughts on “Pants Fail

  1. I feel your pain and frustration. When I was 12, I saved my babysitting and allowance money to buy fabric to sew a pair of pants called jodpers (very popular in the 70’s or so I incorrectly thought) and they basically turned out a hot mess! I cried and my family laughed. Everyone in my family was laughing so hard that I realized how silly the pants looked, so I had to laugh too. It is very frustrating to spend time and money on fashion fail. Thanks for sharing it helped bring back sad but happy time with my family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

