Get Rolling with Tunic with Roll-up Sleeves

Not to be discouraged, I’m starting on another tunic from Happy Homemade Sew Chic. My last attempt ended in cutting disaster, but I soldier on. No one ever said the Japanese Hippie Doomsday Cult look was easy. Actually, the book did say these garments were easy to make, but since I only manage a C- in home ec, whaddya expect?

I’m trying Tunic With Roll-up Sleeves, a fave look from the book.

image

These cute and wearable shirts offer some good design options. I chose a lightweight cotton with metallic graphic elements for the first tunic.

IMG_20150520_155519894

I envision this as a dress-up or dress-down look, depending on whether it’s a special occasion – a initiation ritual, for example – or just another day toiling for the good of the cult.
The book recommends hemp or linen. Forget the hemp!

Start up that sewing machine!

2 thoughts on “Get Rolling with Tunic with Roll-up Sleeves

Leave a Reply

