Fun with Bound Sleeves

So my French seam sleeve armhole idea was a disaster. I unpicked it and pressed the heck out of the silk to remove the needle holes. Then I sewed a normal seam, as would have any sane person not under the sway of the Hippie Doomsday Cult…

Then I had toIMG_20150620_131632323 bind them. At this point, I was not willing to make another trip to the store for some bias binding, and I didn’t have enough fabric left to make my own, so I decided to go with a contrast look. I had some pink packaged bias in my stash so I used it up. You sometimes see a contrast binding in RTW, right?

Anyway, after sewing the sleeve on backwards and all the other mishaps with this jacket (which I started more than two weeks ago) I figured it would do.

I think it turned out pretty smart! What say you? Her’s a picture of the IMG_20150620_134003112wrong side. I need to get my husband to take a picture of me in it from the right side – I suck at selfies. Anyway, it’s done.

I don’t think I will work with silk dupioni again in a hurry. It ravels a lot – just when you think you trimmed down all the stray bits, more show up to the party.

But it is pretty, no?

One thought on “Fun with Bound Sleeves

Leave a Reply

