No Spun Polyester! Ever!

Happy Homemade Sew Chic includes only one skirt pattern, which seems odd to me, since skirts are so easy to make. Anyway, what the book lacks in volume it more than makes up for in interest. Anyone seen a skirt like this, on anyone, ever?

IMG_20150414_111940527

It’s called Straight-cut Tiered Skirt. And it’s fascinating. Here’s the pattern description:

“Three-tiered frill, appears difficult.

No hemming, wear straightaway.”

For starters, the book calls for making this out of “spun polyester.” I have no idea what that is. I Googled it and got a bunch of Websites selling restaurant tablecloths. Clearly, I am not meant to make a skirt out of an old tablecloth, am I? I mean, the Japanese Hippie Doomsday Cult is resourceful – waste not, want not – but that’s just. A bridge. Too. Far.

The heck with polyester anyway. I already struggled through hemp and silk dupioni, so I feel like I did my time with the whole “tricky/icky fabrics” deal.

I found on the clearance table at Joann’s some pretty peacock-colored “scarfweight” fabric made of rayon with a metallic thread running through it, showing from the right side and the wrong side.

IMG_20150719_170907554

It’s pretty sheer, but since the pattern calls for doubling up on the tiers of fabric, it should be fine. It has a pretty good drape to it, which should suit the swish of the tiers. Plus, I have been doing quite a few metallic elements in my Happy Homemade wardrobe so far (see Tunic Dress with Lace and Tunic with Roll-up Sleeves), so it seemed to fit the theme. What can I say? We gals in the cult, we like our bling.

I bought 3.5 yards (3.25 meters), because that’s all that was left on the bolt. The pattern calls for about 4 yards of fabric, but since many of the patterns in Happy Homemade are, shall we say, wasteful with pattern layout, I think I’ll have plenty.

3 thoughts on “No Spun Polyester! Ever!

Leave a Reply

