Knowing My Limitations

I played around with the idea of doing a bias-cut silk crepe de chine for my next sewing project for the Japanese Hippie Doomsday Cult, using this panel fabric:

wpid-wp-1440361709866.jpg

And then I woke up.

Nice idea, sure. But since I only manage a C- in Home Ec, I think that’s a bit beyond me. On the one hand, the only way I’ll know if I can do it is just to, you know, do it. On the other hand, a gal’s gotta know her limitations.

So I will use that crepe de chine panel to make a beach coverup for Happy Homemade Sew Chic project P: Pinafore Dress:

I may play arounIMG_20150823_154351771d with the hem a bit – possibly do a handkerchief style or some such, depending on how the crepe panels lie and behave with the print.

The Pinafore Dress seems plenty flowy, to go with the spirit of the fabric. I will get maximum use of the print design. I like the yoke-and-strap detail at the top – looks a bit like those 1920s-1930s dresses. And since it’s meant as a beach coverup, I don’t want or need anything fitted – in fact, the swimsuit strap showing is a good thing. At least, I think it is.

One thought on “Knowing My Limitations

Leave a Reply

