Ranking Patterns in “Happy Homemade Sew Chic” from Best to Worst

I have now completed 10 projects from “Happy Homemade Sew Chic” and have a decent wardrobe of clothes to pull off the Japanese Hippie Doomsday Cult look. How did it go? Here’s a Top 10 list of patterns, from best to worst (titles of each item are links to my full reviews, in all the gory detail):

10. Straight-cut Tiered Skirt

IMG_20150815_181735101

This skirt uses a ton of fabric and looks like shit. There’s no point in sugar-coating it. Damn, it’s bad.

9. Straight-cut Sarouel Pants

The outcome is pretty bad here too, but we kind of knew that going in, didn’t we?

IMG_20150522_140101030At least I can wear these as pajama bottoms. The dog won’t cuddle with me when I’m wearing them, but that’s his problem.

8. Blouse with Frilled Sleeves

This blouse seemed like it was a pretty good outcome, but I never wore it once.

wpid-img_20150504_210225678.jpg

Something about the boxy shape and the silly frill at the sleeves didn’t work for me. To be fair, I adapted this pattern a bit for the fabric I had. But still, it was a disappointment.

7. Double-cuff Bermuda Shorts

I wore these pants quite a few times this summer. I made clamdiggers instead of shorts, as you can see.

IMG_20150425_203115244

They’re OK. I don’t love an elastic waist. They’re versatile and simple to make. But they’re also kinda baggy – to be worn with long blouses only.

6. Dress with Front Tuck

This dress looks better than it wears.

wpid-wp-1432938457026.jpeg

Without a belt, it looks like maternity wear. With a belt, it looks like belted maternity wear. It’s cool for summer and a quick project, so I give it a passing grade.

5. Jacket with Back Tie

This jacket takes a bit of time, compared with the other projects in this book.

IMG_20150620_133617303

That’s not saying much. I mean, these are all pretty simple projects. But since it’s an unlined jacket, you really need to do some nicer seam finishes to make it work. My rendition, in silk dupioni, turned out pretty good.

4. Tunic Dress with Lace

This dress gets high marks for introducing me to cotton double gauze, a wonderful fabric for summer.

wpid-img_20150508_171113797_hdr.jpg

I later hemmed the sleeves to make this more summery. I wore it all season, calling it my “Japanese house dress.”

3. Jersey Bolero-style Jacket

This jacket turned out pretty well, although I changed up the pattern to add a fastener at the neck and other touches.

IMG_20151017_163644143It’s on my “make again” list, using different fabrics and finishes.

2. Pinafore Dress

If you’re going to wear a sundress, really wear a SUN dress, right?

coverup2

This dress is very sunny and flowy. My fabric choice elevated it from “meh” to  fab.

  1. Tunic with Roll-up Sleeves

My favorite garment from the book! I wore this all summer and plan to make more for next summer.

IMG_20150520_165842008It’s current, with the roll-up sleeves, and the neckline detail is cute and practical.

Sew on!

One thought on “Ranking Patterns in “Happy Homemade Sew Chic” from Best to Worst

  1. Well done for persevering- I think I’d have binned the lot, including the book after the first couple! Mind you, I know that such loose unstructured shapes would do me no favours, and really work best on little slips of things [oh yes, like the models in the cult images]. Again, well done, and a very entertaining series…now go choose some nice stuff from Style Arc and rediscover proper patterns!

    Like

Leave a Reply

